The great inconvenience of deleting texts in iOS 16

[ad_1]

of Apple (AAPL) iOS 16 is finally here. Automatically downloaded and installed on your phone while it charges on your nightstand at night, the software update brings a litany of big changes to your iPhone.

There is no denying that the update is impressive for iPhone owners.

Users will experience a redesigned lock screen, complete with widgets for everything from the weather to your activity. The update also includes the ability to track your medication and improved photo editing tools.

But the most talked about new feature of the software is the ability to edit and unsend text messages. Yes, you can correct grammatical errors, retract raunchy texts you might have sent in a hurry, and finally change “duck” to the word you meant to send.

It’s a powerful tool, especially when combined with the new option that allows you to mark your previously read texts as unread. But don’t think you can send heated texts and quickly take them back or change what you originally sent without consequence.

This is how people will see your messages when you delete a message you sent them.  (Image: Howley)

This is how people will see your messages when you delete a message you sent them. (Image: Howley)

That’s because Apple included a specific warning in its new feature that tells users when someone has canceled or edited a text you sent them.

So no, the text edit and retract feature is not a get out of jailbreak card. You can’t text people like cruise missiles without leaving debris in their inboxes.

Also, if the person you’re trying to retrieve a text from doesn’t have iOS 16 installed, they’ll still see your text.

Still, Apple’s latest innovation is worth using when you need to correct text you forgot to correct or need to change the time of a meeting. Here’s how to use it.

How to delete and edit your texts

Deleting or editing text is incredibly easy. You have to go to the text you want to delete or edit, long press it and wait for the pop-up menu to appear.

From there, you can choose the Edit or Undo Send button depending on what you want to do with your message. You can edit messages five times for up to 15 minutes after you send them.

After that, they are permanent.

To edit or delete a text, simply long press on the message you want to change and select the appropriate action.  (Image: Howley)

To edit or delete a text, simply long press on the message you want to change and select the appropriate action. (Image: Howley)

As for unsent proofs, you’ll only have two minutes to remove them if you don’t want someone to see the message you sent too quickly.

In other words, Apple’s text message update won’t let you send nasty texts and then delete them like they never existed, and you won’t be able to edit them to change what you said before without anyone knowing.

For everyone else who just wants to change “duck” in their texts, the new text message editing and deleting tool is a more than welcome change.

Sign up for the Yahoo Finance technical newsletter

More of Dan

Do you have a tip? Email Daniel Howley at dhowley@yahoofinance.com. Follow him on Twitter at @DanielHowley.

Click here for the latest technology business news, reviews and useful articles on technology and gadgets.

Read the latest financial and business news from Yahoo Finance

Download the Yahoo Finance app to Apple either Android

Follow Yahoo Finance on Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, flip board, LinkedInY Youtube



[ad_2]

Source link